CalGel Nails

23 Dec

I am always up on the new beauty trends… and more times than not try it out at least once. I always do research before hand to make sure there is not harmful chemicals or side effects. For example the Brazilian Hair Straightening (look at blog post below)… That’s a no go. Just like with my gadgets.. I give it a few weeks before I jump in, to hear any of the negative comments from other testers.

I have had the permanent manicure done before, basically it’s done like a normal manicure except with a stronger lacquer and you have to dry your nails under the UV light for 5 minutes or so. But then you are good to go for 2 weeks. No chipping, no fading just a perfect manicure that last 2 weeks! Not so bad, and for those of us who cannot get to the salon all the time it’s perfect. I don’t love the permanent manicure, it’s great that is doesn’t chip but after the 2 weeks you see growth like with acrylics and it takes a special solution to get the color off… so it ties you to the salon. To either get new color or get the color off… I hate being tied to anything. I want to be able to do my own nails at home when I feel like it. Anyway so the permanent manicure is not really my bag. But I came across another nail technique recently. CalGel.
Calgel is a superior gel nail system that promotes nail health. It won’t lift, peel, chip, go rubbery or damage your own nails with harsh acrylics or drills. It doesn’t interfere with the nailbed metabolism, which is why it can actually strengthen your own nails giving you the nails you always dreamed about. Calgel can be used on tips or as a natural nail overlay, and is available in over 80 colors, so the days of smudging, chipping and peeling nail polish are over! And also you can do faded (gradual) color… so say from clear to slowly turning purple.. whatever you want! I have a lady in my area that does it.. it’s actually hard to find people who do, but she is in Japan right now! So I will have to venture into the city.. there is a handful of places that offer Calgel and it’s really not at a bad price, for the basic it’s about $30, then once you start adding nail art, colors ect. it can be at the max $50… I will post photos after 🙂

Also this is not related to Calgel but I get my nails done occasionally at this awesome spot in Soho called Valley…They do 3D nail art which is hard to find as well.. it takes a true artist and patients for both the technician and client! You can sit there for hours… no joke!
I love getting it done but with my busy life, cooking, and kids it’s not always practical, so I do it on special occasions… here is a super cute Hello Kitty idea. Doubt I will be doing that. How can you function day to day! I would do a super toned downed version of  it. I also am not really into long nails… I think semi-short is chic and sexier.

Have fun- Good Luck and email me with any questions.. I know all the best places in NYC and North Jersey for specialty nail art 🙂

Leave a Reply

